Scholarship Name: 2013 Commonwealth Scholarships in South Africa

Brief description: The commonwealth scholarship allows successful applicant to study the course of their choice in any of the following university; Central University of Technology, Durban University of Technology, Tshwane University of Technology, University of Johannesburg, University of Pretoria and University of Stellenbosch in South Africa.

Eligible Field of Study: Scholarships are provided to study any subject as offered by the listed universities, except for the Central University of Technology, where priority will be given to applicants in Tourism and/or Hospitality Management, Education, Biomedical Technology, Engineering and ICT.

About Scholarship: This is one of the numerous scholarship programs sponsored by the funds allocated for the  Commonwealth Scholarship and Fellowship Plan, it covers majorly the academic expenses of successful applicants for the duration of their program. Highly competitive as the number of applicants is high considering the number of applicants from developing country, there are no special consideration to applicants, as the previous academic result is the major yard stick for choosing successful candidates.

Scholarship Type: Master’s degree

Selection Criteria and Eligibility: The following are the criteria that must be met before you submit your application:

  • Be citizens of any Commonwealth country except South Africa

  • Hold a first degree of upper second class Honors standard (or above) in a discipline relevant to that in which study is proposed

Number of Scholarship: Five (5) Scholarship positions are available.

Duration of Scholarship: One or Two years Master’s degree programme.

Eligible Countries:   The scholarship is available to students from the following countries; Antigua and Barbuda, Australia, Bahamas, Bangladesh, Barbados, Belize, Botswana, Brunei, Cameroon, Canada, Cyprus, Dominica, Gambia, Ghana, Grenada, Guyana, India, Jamaica, Kenya, Kiribati, Lesotho, Malawi, Malaysia, Maldives, Malta, Mauritius, Mozambique, Namibia, Nauru, New Zealand, Nigeria, Pakistan, Papua New Guinea, Rwanda, Saint Kitts and Nevis, Saint Lucia, Saint Vincent and the Grenadines, Samoa, Seychelles, Sierra Leone, Singapore, Solomon Island, Sri Lanka, Swaziland, Tanzania, Tonga, Trinidad and Tobago, Tuvalu, Uganda, United Kingdom, Vanuatu, Zambia ,Cameroon.  Please take note that South Africa students are not eligible and cannot apply for this scholarship.

To be taken at (country): South Africa

Application Deadline: 30, June 2013

How to Apply: Please download the APPLICATION FORM and submit to your country’s agency

Sponsors: Commonwealth Scholarship and Fellowship Plan

Important Notes: Please Click here  for the name, email and address of  commonwealth agencies in your country. Applications should be sent online.

(Source: Scholarship-Nigeria)

“Opinion pieces of this sort published on RISE Networks are those of the original authors and do not in anyway represent the thoughts, beliefs and ideas of RISE Networks.”