Nominations are now invited the for the Commonwealth Medical Fellowships. The Fellowships are offered to doctors and dentists from developing Commonwealth countries to enable them to spend between three and six months at a UK hospital undertaking a programme designed to enhance their clinical skills. These fellowships are funded by the UK Department for International Development (DFID).

The primary aim of the Enhancing Clinical Skills Awards are for the award holder to learn a new clinical skill, to practise the new clinical skill, and to network with others in the same and related specialties. Also for the award holder to participate in the academic activities of the host organisation, and to conduct small-scale research projects.

Awards are tenable for between three months and six months; experience suggests that a minimum of 4 months is sensible.  Awards are tenable at any approved UK University Hospital.


  • Applications are open to doctors and dentists from developing Commonwealth countries
  • Applications are considered according to the following selection criteria:
    • Academic merit of the candidate
    • Quality of the application
    • Likely impact of the work on the development of the candidate’s home country

See Selection criteria for 2015 Commonwealth Medical Fellowships for further details.

How to apply

All applications must be made through a nominating university in your home country. You must check with them in the first instance for specific advice on how to make an application and for their own closing date.

Please note that all enquiries about these scholarships should be directed to the nominating university in your home country.

Deadline: December 3, 2014

For more information, click HERE.

“Opinion pieces of this sort published on RISE Networks are those of the original authors and do not in anyway represent the thoughts, beliefs and ideas of RISE Networks.”