The Africa Awards for Entrepreneurship recognize and award exceptional entrepreneurial leaders who serve as role models to Africa’s aspiring entrepreneurs and demonstrate business excellence, innovation and profitability.

Originally established in 2007 by the Legatum Group, the Africa Awards for Entrepreneurship are now hosted by the African Leadership Network (ALN). ALN believes that the surest way for Africa to create prosperity is through entrepreneurship. In line with this, ALN hopes to inspire as many Africans as possible to pursue the path of entrepreneurship through the Africa Awards for Entrepreneurship.

The Africa Awards for Entrepreneurship have the following categories:

  1. LIFETIME ACHIEVEMENT AWARD – Awarded to a senior African business leader who has served as an entrepreneurial icon for several decade and has left an enduring legacy of success in Africa

  2. TRANSFORMATIONAL BUSINESS AWARD – Citation and trophy awarded to a notable business leader who has had a major socio-economic impact in Africa by building a business with revenues greater than US$50million

  3. OUTSTANDING MATURE BUSINESS AWARD – US$100 000 prize to a business leader who has built a company with revenues between US$5Million and US$50million

  4. OUTSTANDING SMALL AND GROWING BUSINESS – US$50 000 prize to young, remarkable African business with revenues between US$500k – US$5Million

  5. SOCIAL ENTREPPRENEUR CATEGORY (NEW) – US$50 000 Awarded to an outstanding enterprise that has a demonstrated socio-economic and environmental impact, while blending profitability and sustainability in its business model. To be eligible, companies must demonstrate revenues of between US$150,000 and US$2.5million in the last financial year.


The Awards are open to Africa-based entrepreneurs with firms that are fully registered in their home countries and that.

  • Have revenues over USD 150, 000 for Social Entrepreneurs and over USD 500,000 for other Categories

  • Have been profitable for at least 2 years

  • Are independent (i.e. not a subsidiary)

  • Are free of legal actions

Selection Process

Nominees will be selected through a rigorous and transparent selection process. A team of business analysts, auditors and market and sector experts will review nominees and select 15-20 of the most outstanding nominations across each of the five categories. The Finalists will be judged by an international panel of leading business experts through review of the comprehensive reports and interviews based on the following criteria:

  • Sustainability and innovation

  • Profitability and growth

  • Long-term business strategy

  • Leadership, culture and values

  • Investment in employees

  • Social and economic impact on communities.

Visit: for more information.

(Source: Africaawards)

“Opinion pieces of this sort published on RISE Networks are those of the original authors and do not in anyway represent the thoughts, beliefs and ideas of RISE Networks.”